Further Up, Further In Weblog

Chronicling the Journey of the Homeyers

Spiritual Reverberations October 3, 2007

Filed under: Devotional — furtherupfurtherin @ 9:04 pm
Tags: , , ,

I read this while drinking coffee at the Java Bean this morning. 

“If the life of Jesus teaches us anything, it is that spiritual reality reverberates in the physical world.  By ‘reverberates,’ I mean not just that it has meaning, but that it has dimension and impact as well.  The spiritual life is not just an interesting religous idea, or a hoped-for berth in heaven.  The spiritual life has earthly dimension – it is life that you can taste, and smell, and touch, and see, and hear.  It is reality.”

p. 19 The Gospel According to Starbucks – Leonard Sweet

It has stuck with me all day.   Are you tasting, smelling, touching, seeing, and hearing your relationship with Christ today, or do you merely believe?

 

2 Responses to “Spiritual Reverberations”

  1. Jerry Davis Says:

    My Son’s Pastor used a G K Chesterson quote one time that I remembered.It struck a nerve with me at that time and an came to my mind as I read your blog today. The quote was “One can NOT think to lowly of himself or to highly of his soul”. After reading “Spiritual Reverberations”I believe I think to highly of my soul and hoped for a berth in heaven..Matt you sure challenge me to look where I am on my spiritual ladder. The rungs I am standing on are sure wore out. I am going to order the Leonard Sweet book as I feel like it would be a good read for me…J

  2. furtherupfurtherin Says:

    Jerry, again, thanks for your kind words and great comments. Chesterton is one of my favorite writers. He is one of the most quotable authors I know of. His book “Orthodoxy” is one of those that I re-read every couple years. Let me know what you think of the book when you get it. See you Sunday!


Leave a Reply

