Further Up, Further In Weblog

Chronicling the Journey of the Homeyers

A week’s musings… April 3, 2008

Filed under: Devotional — furtherupfurtherin @ 2:43 pm
Tags: ,

I am not preaching this week.  I say, “week” and not, “Sunday” because the preaching act really consumes the week of the preacher. 

 The week’s freedom has allowed me a bit of time to spend at the Java Bean simply sitting, reading, and visiting with whomever passes by my table. 

I have spent this time diving into Anne Lammott’s Grace Eventually, and in Mary Oliver’s book of poems, Thirst. 

Today I am off to Eagle Pass with a group from Fellowship to look at taking a mission trip there this summer. 

I wanted to leave an excerpt for you from each book I have spent time in this week. 

“When I am Among the Trees”  a Poem by Mary Oliver

When I am among the trees/esepcially the willows and the honey locust/equally the beech/the oaks and the pines/they giv off suchhints of gladness/I would almost say that they save me/and daily.

I am so distant from the hope of myself/in which I have goodness/and discernment/and never hurry through the world/but walk slowly and bow often.

Around me the trees stir in their leaves/and call out, “Stay awhile.”/The light flows from their branches.

And they call again, “It’s simple,” they say,/”and you too have come/into the world to do this,/to go easy,to be filled/ with light, and to shine.

Grace Eventually by Anne Lamott, talking about teaching a young children’s Sunday school class…

“Next, as always, we did Loved and Chosen. 

I sat on the couch and glanced slowly around in a goofy, menacing way, and then said, ‘Is anyone here wearing a blue sweatshirt with Pokemon on it?’  The four-year-old looked down at his chest, astonished to discover that he matched this description – like, What are the odds?  He raised his hand.  “Cme over here to the couch,”  I said.  ‘You are so loved, and so chosen.’  He clutched at himself like a beauty pageantfinalist.  Then I asked if anyone that day was wearing green socks with brown shoes, a Giants cap, and argylee vest?  Each of them turned out to be loved and chosen, which does not happen so often.  Even Neshama – Anyone in red shoes today?- leapt forward toward the couch with relief.” 

As you process from end-week to week-end, may you go easy/be filled with light/and shine and may you know you are loved and are chosen.

 

Leave a Reply

