Further Up, Further In Weblog

Chronicling the Journey of the Homeyers

Brooks goes to school October 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — furtherupfurtherin @ 7:03 pm

We have entered a new phase of life now as my maternity leave officially came to an end last week.  It was a wonderful time spent at home with Brooks, but we must learn to function as I go back to work part-time for Marble Falls ISD.  About two weeks before I was to return to work I got a call from the First Baptist Church Christian School letting me know that they had an opening in their infant room.  I was so excited!  We got on the waiting list there soon after we found out I was pregnant, but they told us they probably wouldn’t have a spot until Brooks turned two…so we made other arrangements.  I felt okay about what we had worked out, but was not super excited about it.  So, I feel that it was definitely an answer to prayer that a spot opened up for him at First Baptist when it did.

Brooks' first day of school!

Brooks' first day of school!

I will only be working Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursdays, but I took Brooks for the morning on Monday so I could get my initial tears over with before I actually had to function at work.  It was pretty hard to leave him, but I knew it was only until lunchtime.  I kept myself busy by giving my house a good cleaning for the first time since Brooks arrived(It’s already pretty dirty again 😦  )  About 11:45 Matt and I went to pick Brooks up together.  He, of course, had had a great time and done really well.  He has two teachers in his class, Ms. Lajuana and Ms. Elizabeth.  They are both wonderful and have worked in the baby room for a LONG time so they will definitely have a thing or two to teach Matt and me about baby care! 

The rest of the week was not too bad.  In some ways it was nice to be back at work, but I did miss my little man terribly.  I kept this picture as my screen saver and visited it frequently.  IMG_2392

One of the hardest moments of the week was when I was unpacking and organizing my desk.  I found a ruler that I had kept out on my desk last year while I was pregnant so that each week I could see and show my students how big Brooks was.  When we first learned of his presence he was only 1.7 centimeters!  It was crazy to think how far we’ve come since that first week of December when we first heard his little heart beating. 

I think that Brooks will really enjoy his class.  There are a total of 9 babies and most of them are a lot older and much more mobile than him.  Four will actually be moving up to the next class in the next month, so he’ll get to make even more new friends when those spots are filled with new babies.  But for now these babies think that Brooks is a new form of entertainment.  They love to walk/crawl over to him and check him out.   He loves to watch them play and smile back at them. 

I had been having trouble getting Brooks to nap in his crib.  He seemed to prefer his bouncer or something more upright than the bed.  It didn’t take Ms. Elizabeth and Ms. Lajuana long to figure out the secret to crib sleeping.  The third day when I picked him up, they had him swaddled up so snuggly and had put a little vibrator machine in the crib and he had gone to sleep instantly.  They have since used this as their nap tactic for Brooks when he’s not in a swing.  Anyway, that night I tried swaddling him when he went to bed.  He had been sleeping pretty well in the crib at night but still woke up every few hours.  BUT, the next two nights he slept for six and five hours in a row!  Last night he slept from 12 until 6 (with only one pacifier intervention around 3).  This is progress for us!  I told you they would teach us a thing or two about babies! 

I am so greatful that I get to work part-time this year, and after knowing what it’s like to be away from Brooks, I have not slighted him on the number of hugs and kisses I’ve given him the past few days.  IMG_2401When I picked him up on Thursday afternoon, there was a sign on the door informing me that there had been a confirmed case of swine flu in his class.  Since Friday afternoon he has had a very runny nose with lots of sneezes and coughs.  So, this paranoid mom is keeping him quarantined for a while to make sure it doesn’t turn into anything more serious.  Hopefully he’ll be doing better when he has to go back on Tuesday.  In the meantime, Matt and I are spending lots of quality time with our little man.  IMG_2413

 

One Response to “Brooks goes to school”

  1. Chelsey Says:

    Ah, Kelley you are such a good mommy! Miss you guys!


Leave a Reply

