Further Up, Further In Weblog

Chronicling the Journey of the Homeyers

While Daddy’s Away… February 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — furtherupfurtherin @ 10:18 pm

It seems to me that pastors love to ‘retreat’ and ‘have conference’ for the entire months of January and February.  Matt has been running off here and there for a night or two at a time for several weeks now to various pastoral events.  I am thankful that our church allows him time away to do these things.  He always returns refreshed and challenged by those he’s been around.  BUT I’m starting to think that Matt and Brooks already have some kind of little pact to keep me on my toes while he’s away.  Don’t these two look like they’ve got a few tricks up their sleeves?

It all started when Matt was at the Truett Preacher’s conference in Waco.  I had just sent him some sweet pictures of Brooks in the bathtub so he could show him off to all his friends, when Brooks got an urge he couldn’t hold any longer.  He POOPED in the bathtub!!  He has never done that before and I didn’t know what to do!  I got him cleaned up as best I could and just went ahead and put him to bed.  By the time I returned to clean up the mess, we’ll just say it had spread so it was not an easy clean up. 

Matt is away again tonight and my dad came over unexpectedly to have dinner with us (on what happens to be Brooks’ 7 month birthday!) and while I was carrying Brooks from the changing table to put him in the tub, he PEED all over me!  Luckily I had help this time so I could get myself cleaned up.  But I mean seriously, how does this stuff happen?  I know it’s all normal parenthood experience, it just seems a little suspicious to me that these things keep happening while Matt is away. 

I can only imagine what shenanigans these two are going to get into as Brooks grows up.  I may have my hands full!  In the meantime, I’m doing my best to win him over to my side.  Watch out Daddy!!

 

One Response to “While Daddy’s Away…”

  1. Camille Says:

    I think those two are definately up to some tricks! Too funny.

    Camille


Leave a Reply

