Further Up, Further In Weblog

Chronicling the Journey of the Homeyers

Bad Blogger? November 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — furtherupfurtherin @ 8:37 pm

Given how well I’ve kept the blog updated lately makes me feel like a pretty bad blogger.  However, when I think about it, I kind of wonder if the frequency with which I blog lately is actually normal?  Who has time to blog every day or every week anyway?  It’s no coincidence how the more mobile and attention-needy Brooks has become, the less attention the blog receives.  Oh well!  I do wish I kept it more up to date if for no other reason than to have a good record of new happenings with B, but again, oh well!  I will not even attempt to catch up on all that has happened in the last two months.  Instead, what’s happening right now…

I know in the past I’ve made several comments about my eagerness for Brooks to speak and it’s finally happened!!  I am amazed at how much he is learning and how quickly.  I mean technically he’s been in speech therapy since conception, so I knew it would happen, but I was sure hoping it would be sooner rather than later.  Some of his first words were mama, dada, ball, Max, bye bye, night night, uh-oh and more.  He also signs milk and eat so those count too!  (And yes, I wrote all of these down.)  It was like all of a sudden a few weeks ago he could say all of these words, and since then he’s learning more and more everyday.  He imitates so readily when asked to say a new word which I find fascinating since I spend months working with some of my three year old students to do the same thing. 

Physically he’s on the go all the time, pretty much running, though still a toddler run.  He LOVES to go outside (oush) and will come take your finger and pull you to the door until you take him out.  This new game has also required us really learning what no means and has made for some pretty unpleasant tantrums.  He’s got two top molars and two more bottoms about to pop any day now.  He’s taking a Kindermusik class that has been so much fun (for both of us!)  He’s always seemed to love music and he loves to move his little body to the beat!  He still loves balls, but is also into books and anything new to him.  Since it’s Fall and he loves outside, one of his latest obsessions is acorns.  He picks them up as soon as he sees them and seems to have them stashed all around the house and he’ll carry them around all day.  It’s pretty cute.  Also along the lines of outside, he loves rides in his wagon that he got for his birthday!  Matt and I are continually amazed by what a cool little kid we are blessed with!!

 Enjoying Sweet Berry Farm a little more than last year.

 

Sporting the Bamm-Bamm Rubble look for Halloween!

Putting some moves on Pebbles (aka Kenley from his daycare class!) 

 

The Flintstones and the Rubbles!! 

 

 

One Response to “Bad Blogger?”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I love that you also blog!! I’ve been neglecting mine as well, and every so often get an e-mail from someone saying “I need an update!” 🙂


Leave a comment